Menu Close

Guardians of the School

Tara’s School Council acts as guardian of the past, present and future of the School, and is the steward of the School’s name and reputation. In this respect, its role is like that of a board of a company or not for profit organisation. 

It acts in this manner on behalf of the Standing Committee of the Synod of the Diocese of Sydney and is constituted under a Sydney Anglican Diocese Ordinance. 

To do this, the Council sets the strategy and policies within which the School operates. In addition, Council is responsible for the property and finances of the School. This is done in partnership with the Principal and the School Executive and the Principal enacts the decisions of Council within the School. One of Council’s most critical roles is the selection, management and support of the Principal.

The members of the Council are

  • Archbishop of Sydney (President of the Council)
  • Nine members elected by the Synod, of which at least 2 must be clergy
  • Two persons appointed by the Archbishop
  • Two persons appointed by the Council

For practical purposes of governance, the Council appoints a Chair and Deputy Chair from amongst its members.

All members of the Council are voluntary, part time and receive no remuneration for their work on Council.

All members of the Council are required to be actively involved in a church community, hold a valid and cleared Working With Children Check number and acknowledge the Statement of Faith.

Current members of Council and their respective date of appointment:

  • Most Rev Dr Glenn Davies, Archbishop of Sydney (President) BSc, MDiv (Hons), DipA, PhD
  • Mr David Braga (Chair of Council) BA, GAICD - March 2011, Chair since July 2012
  • Ms Simone Gilbert (Deputy Chair of Council) BComm, LLB, Grad Dip Leg Prac - May 2016, Deputy Chair since January 2018
  • Mr Glenn Wilkins BComm, Grad Dip Ed, PTC, MACE, MACEL - October 2009
  • Mrs Nola Haig - December 2014
  • Ms Alison Hammond LLB (Hons), GDLP, ThC, BCL (Dist) - November 2016
  • Reverend David Keun BA PDHPE (Hons), BA Div, Dip Min - May 2016
  • Mr Toby Moussa CA, CPA, RTA, BBus(ACC) - July 2018 
  • Mr Glynn N Evans  B Arch.  Dip Build Const. - March 2019
  • Reverend Andrew Levy BSc (Psychology) Hons, BD - 29 July 2019
  • Mrs Alison Esdaile BA, Dip Ed, MAppLing(TESOL) - November 2019


If you would like further information about the way the School manages the personal information it holds, or wish to know more about the Australian Privacy Principles please contact the School's Privacy Officer.

Contact School's Privacy Officer